music, Musical Review

Getting to know “Whybee” the man with a voice like honey.

A Businessman, Producer, Singer, Songwriter, Musician, and so much more… we have the pleasure of interviewing Jamie Na. Jamie Na is a South Korean based in Gauteng, South Africa. Having completed his high school in South Africa, Jamie then studied towards his passion “Music”, in Germany.

Today we had the privilege of interviewing Jamie Na and becomingΒ  fangirls

πŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸ’›Logo


Can you give us a brief background about Youngbin Na aka Whybee?

I started music as a drummer as my parents wanted me to play the drums at church at age 14. When I learned my first drum beat, that is when it all began and I got completely immersed in the music world. I decided to learn guitar as I wanted to learn a harmonic instrument and the love just grew and grew until I ultimately wanted to pursue the craft professionally, which led to going abroad to Germany and studying and honing the craft there. I knew it was a “sink or swim” situation as the music industry is not an “easy” industry to be in to be successful, but I knew that I would regret it if I don’t at least give it a shot.

photo_2022-08-19 12.25.43


“Whybee”, how did you come up with this name? Is there a backstory to it?

My close friends started calling me YB, which are the initials of my Korean name YOUNG BIN. A very close friend of mine decided to text me “whybee” as a more unique way of addressing me by my nickname and it just sort of stuck since then.

WhyBee


You are currently based in Johannesburg. Tell us about your journey & how you got back to South Africa?

I have definitely been blessed to have had the opportunity to live and travel to all sorts of places. I lived in Johannesburg until I matriculated in 2013. I went to visit my country in South Korea in 2014 for a bit to learn of my roots and study a bit of music at an institute called SMS (Seoul Music School). My big goal was to go to the United States and study at the Berklee College of Music. Though I was accepted, it was not easy to go there as it was extremely expensive. After looking at the Berklee website, I found out that they have affiliate schools in Europe, which is how I applied and got accepted at [Hochschule fΓΌr Kunst, Design und PopulΓ€re Musik] in Freiburg, Germany. I studied there for 4 years from 2015 – 2019 and decided to come back to Johannesburg and help the family from then until now.

PHOTO SHOOT (FREIBURG, GERMANY)

Jamie1


Can you tell us a bit about your music background and what ignited your love for music?

We have all been at that stage of our lives as teenagers where we start to rebel and our emotions take over us. When I was battling with teenage depression and anxiety; I was always able to calm it down by plugging in my earphones and bashing the drums.


What hobbies or interests do you have outside of music?

I am a bit of a tech junkie, so I read up on the latest technologies and I enjoy the occasional braai as well as just making campfires in the yard and chilling with friends.Β  I’m a foodie and love anything to do with good food and ambience. I also enjoy basketball, although I don’t do it much anymore due to an injury on my finger a while back. Nothing beats a good drive in the evening with some nice music on the stereo! I would do it more often if not for the recent changes in petrol prices… So I guess there are too many for me to talk about right now haha

The Musician and the Foodie

Your website bio states your musical influences and role models as Ed Sheeran, Bruno Mars, John Mayer, Yoon Do-Hyun, Brown Eyed Soul, Sting, Michael Jackson and Dan+Shay. If you could, which of these artists would you most like to collaborate with?

It would definitely be a dream come true if I could collaborate with Ed Sheeran and Bruno Mars! (Difficult to choose between the two)


On the topic of influences, what is the best advice you’ve been given?

This is a very tough one, as I have had many great mentors. But I would like to quote 2 of many.

“If you can make even 1 cent off of your music, then you are already a “professional” as there is someone willing to pay something for it”

“Don’t fixate on money. If you don’t have money, you can just make more. There will always be money left in the world for you to work for but passion and health limited and all on you”


Which song/artist are you currently listening to in your car?

These days I have been listening to a lot of Peder Elias, Daniel Casper and IU.

Peder Elias


Are there any music genres that you have not tried or mastered yet that you want to attempt?

I don’t think anyone can “master” a genre as they are always changing and evolving. But there are a few genre’s I would love to attempt properly for example the likes of your LATIN, REGGAE and EDM music.


We have recently come out of a major lockdown. How has that impacted your day to day work as well as your music?

Luckily it has not greatly impacted the automotive industry in which I am currently working full time in. However, it definitely had an effect on my music career as I have stopped teaching as well as playing gigs. I am happy to see that things are getting back to normal though.


How do you feel the internet has impacted the music business?

For better or worse, the internet has most definitely had major impacts on every business industries including music. You see many people doing live shows online (Youtube, Twitch etc.). I myself have done so during the first COVID lockdown and am planning on doing more in the near future. Thanks to cloud technologies as well as faster internet speeds, musicians can now collaborate with many others internationally and share ideas and tracks. Musicians are now starting their “own business” so to speak, instead of joining a label company. And of course, most people stream music nowadays instead going out to buy CDs.


Teaching music is one of your passions, how did you get into teaching?

I honestly started teaching music as a means to an end as it we have to pay the bills. But over time, I realised I enjoy helping people get into music and I really enjoyed it when I saw the passion light up in the eyes of my students.

Lessons

Lessons


What would you be doing now, if it wasn’t for your music career?

I am greatly interested in becoming a Software Architect as well as being an Entrepreneur.


You took part recently in the Changwon KPop World Festival Regionals in Jhb, as both a judge and special performer. How was the experience and what other musical events have you been a part of in South Africa?

It was definitely an experience I will remember! I was also very proud to see so many young talents performing my country’s arts. I have performed in β€œThe Social Fest” in 2019 as soon as I came back from Germany.


Have you had the opportunity to perform outside of South Africa?

Yes, I performed mostly in Germany as I was studying there and was a part of many different projects.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


What is your favourite song to perform?

Hahaha, this is a very difficult question. I fact I think it might be impossible as I can’t really think of just ONE song haha.


You will be performing at the KSA Arts and Culture Festa in Cape Town in September. What are you most looking forward to at the event?

I am very interested in meeting the different personalities that will be attending the eventΒ as well as a good food!

Tickets to the KSA Arts and Culture Festa in Cape Town on 10th & 11th September 2022, can be purchased here


Could we perhaps get a preview of your performance? (Sing us a few lines)

[can’t sing in text haha].


You’ve accomplished so much this far, what’s next?

Honestly, for me, it has only just begun and I am looking forward to the surprises of the
future that is in store for me. My next goal is to release an EP album and a Single.


Lastly, Do you have any advice for viewers wanting to pursue a career in music?

The most important thing is passion. If you firmly believe in something, don’t let other people’s opinions get you down. Your passion will guide you through the good and bad times. At times we succeed, at times we fail; but if you give up without having tried it, it will end up a regret that will never leave you


Endiment and WhyNots fangirling moments!!

And that Ladies and Gentlemen is how we became fans of “WhyBee” to the extent that our fandom is called “WhyNots” and our fandom colours are Black & Yellow..next step is a fan page.

πŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸ’›

Please do check out the various SNS accounts and remember to like, subscribe and comment.


If you want to know more about Jamie Na aka Youngbin Na aka WhyBee you can follow him on the following SNS accounts.

Website

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Patreon


Bonus: Whybee – μ‹œμž‘ (Start Over_ GAHO)

Recently, Jamie very kindly did a recording for the Officially KSA and Durban K-Addicts “Pajama KDrama”Β 


Thank you Jamie for taking time out of your extremely busy schedule to sit down and have a chat with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and learn more about you.

We at Officially KSA are definitely “WhyNots” and wish you all the best in your future endeavours and hope that we can continue to watch you grow in all aspects of your career. We will be the first to buy your EP.

πŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸπŸ’›πŸ–€πŸπŸ’›

WhyBee Hwaiting!!

#JamieNa #YoungBinNa #WhyBee #WhyBeeMusic #WhyNots #OfficiallKSA #SouthAfrica #SouthKorea #SouthAfrica_SouthKorea

Leave a comment